So, today we started potty training. Can you tell how much I loved it?? Our main reason that we started potty training now is that the Hubs is home. We’re not sure when he’ll start work yet, early as Monday as late as.. who knows. I know it would be hard with both boys trying to potty train Luke by myself. So, while he’s here at home we’re trying to really focus on it.

Part of me still feels that Luke isn’t ready. But he is just 2 weeks away from being three, so I feel like maybe he needs a little push. We worked on it today for about 3/4th of the day and then we all needed a break. He had 3 accidents, all just wet, but I really expected that.

Our biggest problem is that he hates sitting on the potty. When we tell him he needs to sit on the potty for a while, he whines, “NOOOooooooo!!”. It’s just a fight so by about 2pm we were all done. And I’m sure he hasn’t learned that ‘feeling’ you get when you need to go. He would say, “Oh no” or “I need to go potty” after his pants were already wet. He did enjoy wearing his big boy underwear.

The hubs and I were both very encouraging and positive, trying to get him excited about it. It worked in the beginning but wore off quickly. We used M&M’s for prizes but one little M&M isn’t a big deal to him! So, that wasn’t really an incentive! I’m not really sure how to get him excited about it. It’s just not a big deal to him!

All I know is that it’s hard. I know that one day it will all be over (and then Eli will be next)… but right now, it’s hard. I’m praying that it gets easier and he gets the hang of it. And if anyone has any tips, I’ll take them. Just don’t tell me that your child was potty trained by 18 months or over the course of one day. 🙂

Tomorrow is a new day!

