IMG_0984

I’m always on the lookout for good muffin recipes. My boys love muffins. They are quick and easy and can be a part of a really healthy breakfast. So, when I came across this muffin recipe on Pinterest, I had to try it. It has NO sugar, except fruit! Here is my adapted recipe.

Coconut Mango Muffins
Adapted from She Bakes Here

1 cup spelt flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 3/4 cup mango puree (or mango/banana mixture)
1/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut, plus more for sprinkling
1 egg, beaten
2 TBS coconut oil, melted

Preheat oven to 350* and grease muffin tin.
In a large bowl, mix flours, baking soda, salt, coconut and cinnamon. In a medium size bowl mix eggs, puree and buttermilk. Pour the puree mixture into the dry ingredients and begin to mix. While mixing, slowly pour in coconut oil. This is usually how I add my coconut oil into my baking batters to help it not solidify. Anything cold (eggs, fruit purees, milk) is going to cause the coconut oil to solidify. If you slowly pour the coconut oil in while stirring, you can avoid this. Mix until just combined. You never want to over mix muffins! 🙂 Fill greased muffins cups full (these don’t rise much), sprinkle tops with shredded coconut and bake for 15-20 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes before removing from pan, to a cooling rack.

These are really good muffins but they are not very sweet! THe fruit puree adds sweetness but if your family is not use the less sweetened types of muffins and breads, you could add some honey to the fruit while it’s puree-ing. Tip: thaw your mangos if using frozen. I thawed mine on the counter for 20 minutes but they were still too frozen! This is where the buttermilk came into play! I think buttermilk is almost always a good idea in a baked good, though! I added my buttermilk to the blender and it helped the mangos finish puree-ing. but I realized I didn’t have the full amount. Enter, banana! One banana made the full 2 cups of buttermilk/fruit ratio. So, you can do a mixture of both fruits or just one!

I was browsing She Bakes Here and found this Apple and Blueberry Walnut Breakfast Quinoa that I want to try! Sounds yummy!

Tried any new recipes lately?

