025

Don’t you love my labeling?

I finally found it! A perfect recipe for dishwashing detergent! I had been looking for a while and tried a few recipes, all of which left white residue on my dishes. I’d have to wash them twice just to get most of it off, which obviously defeats the purpose of saving money when you’re wasting water! Here is the winning recipe:

Homemade Dishwashing Detergent
(Original recipe found here!)

  • 2 c borax
  • 2 c Arm & Hammer washing soda (NOT baking soda)
  • 2 c lemi shine
  • 1 c kosher salt (I used sea salt because that’s all I had)
  • Combine all ingredients in a bowl and stir until mixed. In order to avoid the mixture from sticking together, leave out and stir occasionally for a few days before placing in a jar. *See note below
  • Add a small container with white vinegar in it to the top rack of your dishwasher before running.  After reading the original article I found out that vinegar in your rinse aid compartment is not a good thing. It will damage the rubber seal. I use a very small mason jar filled about half way with vinegar. It’s so much cheaper than rinse aid. And honestly, sometimes I forget! So, I probably remember it about 50% of the time!
  • Use 1 tbs of detergent per load of dishes.  I do about a 30/70 split with 30% in the pre-wash spot and 70% in the wash spot as suggested.

*I followed the instructions about placing all of the ingredients into a bowl and stirring to avoid the batch solidifying before I placed into my large mason jar. I let it sit out for about 4 days and stirred every time I thought about it. Unfortunately, it still seemed to stick together, particularly at the bottom of the jar. It seems that the Lemi-Shine (citric acid) is the culprit, so you can leave that out and then just add a little separately each time you wash a load. So, I may do that next time. I just need to figure out how much to add to each load!

After looking at her findings it seems that making your own dishwashing detergent saves you about 10 cents per load. And that was compared with dishwashing detergent from Costco. I have no idea what the price comparison would be with the cheapo stuff I usually buy (Wal-Mart brand or Sun). I’d like to figure it out but the thought of that hurts my head at this stage. Even if the savings would be smaller, it’s still savings! For our budget, all savings count!

Here is my recipe for semi-homemade foaming hand soap!
And this one for homemade disinfecting wipes!

Have you found any household products that you can make at home that have helped you save money? I am always looking for ways to save our family money and make our lives healthier!

