(What a title, huh? Anyway..)

Remember that one time I hadn’t written a blog post in a while and so I wrote one and then it didn’t save. Yeah. That time. Then remember that time that it happened again. Yeah. Computers are dumb. I went back and started reading some blog posts from several years ago and realized how much I missed blogging about my family. I know real bloggers have a purpose and a niche. So what that I just like to write about my little family? 🙂

So, it’s summer time! We’ve been busy being lazy! The past few weeks have been a little more busy but in general our summer has been laid back, just like I like it! The boys play outside swinging, in the sprinkler or on the slip and slide. They chase lightning bugs at dusk or we go on a late walk. I love the simplicity of it all. I’m trying not to think about the upcoming school year just yet. I’ve got a week before I start planning and getting our supplies together. Speaking of homeschool, I realized last week how much I love one of the perks of homeschooling:: Sleeping in. I’ve shared before how I’m not ashamed to say we all sleep until about 8 most mornings. And I’d love to get up a little earlier than the kids but the truth is, I am a night owl. I get a good bit of housework done after the kids go to bed. One day my kids will all be sleeping through the night and then, maybe then, I’ll get up early! Anyway, Luke went to a Lego camp last week from 8-12 daily. So, getting up at 6:30am, getting all four of us fed and dressed and out of the house by 7:30 was a feat. I’m sure you mamas who work outside the home are rolling your eyes, and rightfully so. But that is not the norm in our home and I like it that way. I love being woken up by my sweet Jude, sleepy heads strolling down the hall while the coffee brews, oatmeal simmering while little boys catch a cartoon snuggled on the couch. No hurry.. nowhere to go. I just really love it.

I like a simple, slow-paced life. I find myself getting stressed and anxious when there is too much on our plates. My “too much” is probably a lot different from others “too much”. I like to be home the majority of the time. Three or more happenings during the week and I’m stressed. I’m an introvert… a  homebody. If I’m home too much, though, I can feel anxious, too. It’s a balance. I try to take advantage of my own desire for simplicity and be intentional with it. I think God desires us to live life slowly. There is a misconception that to live slowly means to be lazy but I want to make sure I am not falling into that misconception and pattern (it can happen easily when you stay at home!). I want to make sure that I am being purposeful in the “various-sameness” that is my life. This life, inside these walls, is my greatest work.

I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth.” 3 John 1:4

Going on with this same theme of simplicity, the Hubs and I have been attempting to simplify in the area of our stuff. This is something we do on a pretty regular basis but we’ve really been trying to push ourselves here. So much of what we have we think we need but the reality is, we really need so little. There has to be a shift in our minds of what our needs really are and that shift is vastly different from what the world says. We still have a way to go but we are making progress. Less stuff is less to manage, less to store, less to move and clean and pick up. It really is part of our desire to live simply and purposefully. And hopefully in this process, we will be able to use our third bedroom again (yes, it’s that bad!).

 

I’ll leave you with a few links on homeschooling and simplifying! Do you have any favorites?

Why be Crazy Enough to Homeschool by Ann Voskamp, I read this one often.

Give Your Home and Homeschooling a Heartbeat by Sally Clarkson (I so want to purchase the ecourse/video!)

“May we be brave and let go of the things that simply take up space.”  (from Tsh Oxenreider)

7 Principles to Simplify Your Family Life

 

9ce1d3a7c2beb8a4d3570bd8c8668107

 

 

 

