IMG_8647

Christmas is winding down. Yes, many more celebrations may be happening over the next few days (we even have one next weekend) but the day is officially almost over. What feelings to you have as Christmas winds down?

Normally, after the grandparents gather at our house we sit and read the Christmas story together. Unfortunately, today it didn’t happen. It was still joyous and fun but I missed having Christ’s birth read about from Luke two like we have in the past and sharing my heart on the birth of Christ. The Hubs and I will read it together with the boys tonight but I do wish we would have stopped in all of the commotion and read His word.

I have been reading through the Advent devotions on She Reads Truth this season. It’s been wonderful and a great way to focus my mind. There have been many, many things that have spoken to me through this study. The Christmas story is so deep and beautiful.

IMG_8652

One of my favorite parts of the birth of Christ is the story of when Mary visits Elizabeth. Elizabeth is pregnant with John the Baptist and when Mary speaks, John leaps for joy in her womb. We know from Scripture that John the Baptist is filled with the Holy Spirit from conception. At the very sound of Mary’s voice, John knows Jesus is near. Even before Christ is born, John is saying, “He’s coming!! He’s coming!!” I desire to have that same passion and excitement about Christ. John grows up to be an unusual type. He lives in the wilderness, wears animal skin and eats bugs. Sometimes I feel strange, or like others think I’m strange for how we live, so I identify with John the Baptist a little. John was chosen to prepare the way for the Lord. The same Spirit John had, I have! There is great comfort there but also great weight. The Spirit has always been proclaiming Christ through God’s people. Its how God shares His message. God’s design is to use His people.

John Piper says, “From the very beginning of Christ’s incarnation the Holy Spirit was quietly doing what needed to be done to put forward Jesus Christ as the Son of God and Savior of man.”

Life gets busy and I forget to seek the Spirit’s help in making Christ known. Fixing that simply means renewing my mind and taking my thoughts captive. I can do that because Jesus came! He came to save my soul and gave me the gift of the Spirit to be with me while He prepares my home. Immanuel, God with us. If God had not come down, bent low to become flesh, I’d have no hope of being able to do any good. So, I’m ending tonight abundantly thankful that I know the baby in the manger, the God who became flesh and the Spirit who continues to work in my life.

This is where my heart will be tonight, with these Scriptures to meditate on His work in my own life. I’d love to know how God has worked in yours this Advent. If you have a minute, let me know!

“He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of his nature, and he upholds the universe by the word of his power. After making purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high” Hebrews 1:3

“For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. For if you live according to the flesh you will die, but if by the spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live.” Romans 8:6,13

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.” John 1:1;14

9ce1d3a7c2beb8a4d3570bd8c8668107

 

 

 

 

