One thing I want you all to be clear about is that I’m not a photographer. I love to take photos but I’m not the best at it. The pictures of our food are almost always taken on my iPhone because it’s handy. Lighting also plays a huge role in photos and dinner time lighting (and sometimes lighting in general when the sun won’t come out!!! 🙁) in the winter isn’t great. {I pause here to say I miss sunshine!! I don’t mind winter. I just need the sun!} I say all of that to say, this isn’t the best picture and I know it!! The next time I make it, I’ll attempt to take some better photos and update it. Again, don’t expect food styled photographs around here. I’m just doing the best I can and sharing for the fun of it So, please excuse my modest and humble attempts!  Here’s the recipe!

image7

Chicken Fajita Soup

2 TBS of olive oil

1-1.5 lbs of chicken breast, cut into bite size pieces

1 onion, chopped

1 green bell pepper, chopped

1 yellow or orange bell pepper, chopped

1- 15 oz can diced tomatoes

1- 15 oz can black beans, drained

2 cups chicken broth

1 cup water

1 TBS fajita seasoning (I use this homemade version an add a TBS of oregano to the base  mixture)

salt and pepper

Heat oil in pan to about medium heat and add chicken. Add onions and peppers and cook until translucent, about 10 minutes, stirring a few times. Add fajita seasoning and stir. Next, add tomatoes, broth, beans and water. Stir well to get up the bits from the bottom of the pan. Bring soup to a boil. Reduce heat to low and cover. Simmer soup for about 30 minutes. Taste and season with salt and pepper as needed before serving. I had this soup over leftover rice. It would also be great with tortilla chips, sour cream and/or cheese.

Enjoy! 🙂

9ce1d3a7c2beb8a4d3570bd8c8668107

