I feel like this past week was a boring food week but I don’t know why. We tried some new things for breakfast because I was feeling like we were in a breakfast rut and that’s not boring. They were both great so I wanted to pass them along as some cheap, healthy breakfast options… unless you’re grain free. We like grains around here! So, here are the highlights from what we ate. And if you’re wondering why I’m doing this you can check out the first post in this series.

My husband is a huge fan of tomato soup and grilled cheese. I had planned to have vegetable soup this night but he asked if I could change it and since I had everything I was happy to. It’s so easy to make homemade tomato soup. SO easy. I’ll try to share the recipe I’ve created over the past year or so that we like. The sandwich was grilled cheese on sourdough, but it was sourdough from the store which isn’t real sourdough. I have to tell you about my sourdough starter at the end of this post though. It’s tragic. I don’t normally do a meatless Monday… though I should. But this was meatless and we did have it on Monday. Normally our meatless meals are completely random.

image31

Aldi was out of our usual grassfed beef, so I had to be creative with our meat options. They carry a preservative free brand of bacon so I picked up a pack and we had loaded baked potatoes and salad. I’m not a huge fan of pork so we don’t eat it often. When we do it’s usually in the form of bacon. Because, bacon.

image13

Now to my favorite of the week: cornmeal pancakes. I used this recipe and used this gluten-free flour in place of the flour. Our family doesn’t eat gluten free, but I do vary what kinds of flours we use. I only eat long fermented wheat products, so this was a treat to me since it was gluten free.

image41

Like I said earlier, I was feeling in a rut for breakfast and decided to order a few new things when I placed my Vitacost order. They were having a sale on Bob’s Red Mill products, so I ordered some buckwheat cereal. All I did was cook it according to the package, added some coconut oil, coconut sugar and cinnamon. The boys topped theirs with some shredded apples and/or raisins. It was a hit. Jude said it was, “So nummy!”

image21

So, now my tragic sourdough story. It’s dead. D. E. A. D. How do I know? One word: mold. Yuck! It’s very, very rare for a starter to mold when taken care of but somehow it happened to me. I do admit that I have neglected it (for the most part) the past two weeks but even that shouldn’t cause mold. I do think neglect makes it more susceptible to some bacteria that may cause mold. It could have been the spoon I used to mix in my starter. Cultures for Health says it can even be caused from soap residue. I’m always very careful, so I was very surprised and very disappointed. I unfortunately didn’t have any reserved as a back up (note to self). I have a few places that I’m going to look into for a new starter because I don’t want to live without sourdough!

Speaking of traditional sourdough vs storebought sourdough, this article from Wardee at Traditional Cooking School was in my inbox this week and you might find it interesting.

Have a wonderful week!

9ce1d3a7c2beb8a4d3570bd8c8668107

