{Eli’s next to me working through his math and I thought I’d take a minute to give a little update on life and some thoughts swarming in my head.}

It’s kind of strange living without social media. I know people do it. My dad for example doesn’t do social media. I think it’s awesome. But for someone who was  immersed (and I don’t say that as a good thing), it’s strange. It’s like living on an island. Living on an island can be great, especially for an introvert like myself. But sometimes it’s nice to know what’s going on around the rest of the world. Even introverts like to feel connected.  I depend on  my husband to tell me important stuff… and sometimes he forgets. For instance, he told me today that Paul Washer had a heart attack Monday. This is important information! Paul Washer is one of my most favorite pastors. I checked his Twitter where they are posting updates and found that he is doing well after surgery and will hopefully go home soon. If you don’t know who he is, I’ll post some links that will get you familiar. Many prayers for him as he recovers and continues to do God’s work. This is the kind of news I need to hear. So, if you come across something that you think I might be interested in (books, theology, theologians, health, food stuff, anti vax to name a few), send me a message. And if you just want to say, “Hey!”… send me a message. Social Media and I just don’t mix. I know I sound like a broken record… but it’s true. So… Anyways…

In Paul Washer’s honor, below are a few of my most favorite Paul Washer memes. I love a good meme, yall. Side note: We once named a rescue dog ‘Washer’ because of Paul Washer. The dog tried to attack Eli, so it didn’t work out. But yeah, we like the guy.

Serious ones first:

 

And if you’ve listened to his “Shocking Youth Sermon”, you’ll get this…

image4
:)))

This was a recent tweet after his heart attack:

image1(2)

Hahaha! So funny.

And this clip…. It gives me life.

Let’s see… what else?  I was sick for the better part of two weeks last month and we got behind on school. So, my sick week became our spring break. Bummer, but that’s what happens when you’re the only teacher. Along with that, we’re in the process of getting our house ready to sell and while I was sick I couldn’t do a whole lot. I was happy to keep everyone fed, alive and keep the house standing. Now that I’m better, we’ve been working more on the house. It’s our top priority right now because we can’t move until we sell. The house goes on the market in a week. So, it has to be picture ready in less than! My husband has been a rock star working all day and then coming home and working on the house until bedtime. I’ve felt like I haven’t contributed as much because, you know, child rearing.  But that’s something, right? Last night my mom and dad kept the boys for 4 hours and I painted our living room, trim and all. It took every bit of those 4 hours. Today between school, I’m going to be painting the bathroom cabinets and trim. As I work, I pray that God would bless our efforts and the new family moving in will be blessed as well. I also pray that my poor hip will survive.

Speaking of that, among all of the sickness and house stuff, I’ve been trying to figure out what’s going on with my hip and thigh. I’ve had issues with it for years and have seen two different Dr’s. Both just kind of dismissed it and told me to take some anti inflammatory. *eyeroll* I finally decided to try another Dr and thankfully he was willing to do some tests. I had an arthrogram MRI on my hip last Monday. What that means is that I had a three part test which started with an MRI without contrast. Then I had an arthrogram, where they inject contrast into my hip joint. Last, they did a second MRI with contrast. I had no tares or anything needing surgery, but my hip abductor tendon is inflamed.  Obviously, this is a chronic issue because it has been going on for years. It looks like I may deal with it for life but there are some suggestions he gave to help it. I’ve been using essential oils and also magnesium oil with heat and that has already seemed to lessen the number of days I have that it bothers me. So, there’s that. I’m a 35 year old with hip problems!

What am I reading? Glad you asked! I just finished the book Wedded to War and I LOVED it. Historical fiction is my thing. I especially love the Civil War period. There are three other books in the series and I am looking forward to reading them. I’m waiting to see if I can catch them on sale. Looking through my Xist classics on my Kindle, I decided to start North and South, which isn’t about the Civil War, by the way. I just picked it out of the classics I’ve been collecting. It’s lengthy and I don’t have much time to read, just a few spare moments when I fall into bed. With that said, it may take me a while to read. I’m also reading Holiness by JC Ryle and if the book as a whole (which is also quite long!) is like the introduction, it’s going to be excellent. Here’s a sample: “The immense importance of “adorning the doctrine of God our Savior” (Titus 2:10), and making it lovely and beautiful by our daily habits and tempers, has been far to much overlooked. Worldly people sometimes complain with reason that “religious” persons, so-called, are not so amiable and unselfish and good-natured as others who make no profession of religion. Yet sanctification, in its place and proportion is quite as important as justification. Sound Protestant and Evangelical doctrine is useless if it is not accompanied by a holy life. It is worse than useless: it does positive harm. It is despised by keen-sighted and shrewd men of the world, as an unreal and hollow thing, and brings religion into contempt.”
So, so good and so, so timely. And to think it was written over a hundred years ago! I’m also studying the book of James using Jen Wilkin’s Bible study .

Ok, well, a cabinet in the bathroom is calling me to paint it, so I must go. Please tell me what you’re up to! Reading anything good? I’d really love to know! If you comment on Facebook (this post will automatically publish there), I won’t see it unless Robby shares with me!

Enjoy your weekend!

9ce1d3a7c2beb8a4d3570bd8c8668107

PS- Here are some Paul Washer Resources:

HeartCry Missionary Society
Paul Washer Sermon: Do You Truly Know the Lord?
Paul Washer Interview with Tim Challies
The Gospel’s Power and Message
The Gospel Call and True Conversion
Gospel Assurance and Warnings

